h1

Life & Death Decisions using Sparse, Unreliable Evidence

August 23, 2010

Wahey, my first ‘paper’ (here, PDF) has been reviewed and accepted for the European Conference on Information Management and Exploitation in early September.  It looks rather lonely on its own on my shiny new publications list page, but the title makes up for it.

It became a bit of a brain dump for everything I could think of that was relevant, so it’s a broad sweeping outline with plenty of pieces to pick up and work on in more detail.

Many thanks to John Salt for helping to write it, my parents for their initial review, and friends especially Tom Targett and Eric Titley at the ROE for proof reading the later versions.

4 comments

  1. “Few good researchers are also good soldiers” – Ha! Definitely a small group! Do you count yourself in this? 🙂

    I love the way this paper connects two areas of the modern world (communication/information management and the dirty reality of what soldiers actually do) that you don’t normally see discussed together!


    • Only in my dreams am I both! But no I’m certainly not in the ‘good soldiers’ set and I’m not sure yet if I’m in the ‘good researchers’ set.

      One of the many things I like about this area is the ‘extreme’ environment, to test how useful some concepts are. For example, publish/subscribe mechanisms and the tension between full flexibility vs speed (more to follow…) which are sometimes unnoticed assumptions in ordinary environments and result in binary choices between, say, ‘waterfall’ and ‘agile’. By using this environment to expose boundaries of usefulness for some concepts we can understand and use them better: ‘when to use’ and ‘how much to use’, rather than ‘whether to use’


  2. Something that occured to me whilst reading this was that this is the sort of thing Shrivenham should be interested in, do they have some sort of process for supporting external research like this?


  3. They do – I’ll tell you about it over a pint sometime



Leave a Reply

